Home / Department of Physics

Department of Physics

The Department of Physics at St Aloysius College (Autonomous) offers Physics as a subject at the undergraduate level. The undergraduate curriculum offers students the opportunity to acquire a deep conceptual understanding of fundamental Physics. Along with theory the department offers appropriate practicals that support the theoretical knowledge besides the department organizes workshops and seminars at state as well as national level.

Under following Combinations the subject Physics is offered at under graduate level
Bachelor of Science (B.Sc) – Physics, Chemistry, Mathematics
Bachelor of Science (B.Sc) – Physics, Electronics, Mathematics
Bachelor of Science (B.Sc) – Physics, Statistics, Mathematics
Bachelor of Science (B.Sc) – Physics, Computer Science, Mathematics
Bachelor of Science (B.Sc) – Physics, Computer Animation, Mathematics

B.Sc Semester I – Properties of matter, Thermal Physics and Basic Electricity – I
B.Sc Semester II – Mechanics, Relativity and Photonics
B.Sc Semester III – Acoustics, Optics and Networks
B.Sc Semester IV – Electromagnetism, Electricity II and Electronics I
B.Sc Semester V – Atomic Physics, Solid State Physics
B.Sc Semester VI – Nuclear Physics and Electronics II, Communication and Digital Electronics, Special properties of Materials.

Distinguished Alumni
Dr K V Rao, Director, Royal Institute of Technology, Sweden.
Dr Chandrashekar Shetty, Former Registrar of Evaluation, Mangalore University.
Dr Nithyananda Shetty, Professor, NITK, Surathkal.
Dr Keshavayya, Prof. & HOD, Dept of Chemistry, Kuvempu University.
Dr Ramachandra Bhat, Prof, NITK, Surathkal.
Dr M R Shenoy, Prof. IIT New Delhi.


Mr Lawrence J M Pinto
Associate Professor, HOD
M.Sc., M.Phil
Dr Prakash Kamath
Associate Professor
M.Sc., M.Phil., Ph.D
Dr Narayan Bhat
Associate Professor
M.Sc., Ph.D., PGDCA
Dr Ishwara Bhat S
Associate Professor
M.Sc., Ph.D
Mr Harshith B
Mr Shawn Ajay D'Souza